WPC – Symbol – Irish Worry Stone

stone1  I am not superstitious by nature, but this lovely, simple symbol of my Irish heritage is never far from my side. In fact, I keep it tucked in a small zippered compartment of my purse.  Made from Connemara marble, the Irish Worry Stone so smooth and cool to the touch, is reputed to keep worries at bay and bring a sense of comfort to those who hold it.   My mother loved these worry stones and often brought them back to friends as souvenirs when she visited her homeland of Ireland.  My close friend Joe, who was diagnosed with Non Hodgkin’s Lymphoma at 32 years of age was the recipient of one of my mother’s worry stones.  When he died, I visited his apartment where his mother was staying temporarily.   As we comforted each other with memories of her wonderful son she asked if she could show me something. Entering his bedroom she gestured toward his night table.  On the corner closest to his bed, lay the worry stone. I like to think that it brought him comfort.

Published by Kathy Simmons

I am an ex New Yorker who still misses the vibrancy of the city. I seek out the humor in every day life and relay it through my stories in the hope others will appreciate as well. I love to write about growing up with my fantastically unique Irish mother whose memory inspires me every day. Although she is no longer with us, her antics are an endless staple for my tales. I currently live in Connecticut with my husband, two sons and toy fox terrier Anabel.

29 thoughts on “WPC – Symbol – Irish Worry Stone

  1. Beautiful post, Kathy. I have one of these stones too, and like you, carry it in my purse, in a little velvet sack…they really are uncannily soothing. Thank you.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. I’ve never heard of a worry stone and yet I have a number of smooth stones and pebbles that I keep in my purse and other bags, especially when I travel. I love the feel of them in my hand.

    Like

    1. They are so lovely Sharon. You can find a variety if you google “Irish Worry Stone” though they are not inexpensive. The problem is to find one of quality (they can differ) so I tend to order from Irish import websites that are located in US. I sadly misplaced mine and am going to have to order a few more. They are also wonderful for gifts! Thanks for enjoying.

      Liked by 2 people

Leave a comment