Daily Post Photo Challenge “Vivid”

viv1It always draws controversy. I recall a neighbor glancing at the painting with the discerning eye of a collector remarking, “How in-ter-esting!” Love it or hate it, it hangs on my bedroom wall. This vivid, lively swirl of jade green, orange and blue with the upside down heart (my interpretation) The painting that brings the memory of my father closer to me than well, many memories themselves.  He loved this painting.  Just glancing at it brings him close to me again. We never knew where he bought it or who the artist.  Likely, one of this beloved auctions or tag sales.   They say scent is the strongest indicator of a memory yet for me, the visual of this painting is like going home, vividly.

The vividness of a garden flower in bloom

viv2

Every August we spend a week at a fly fishing club in Vermont for our family vacation. As our sons grow, we also enjoy the ritual of a new sweatshirt purchased at summer’s end for the upcoming Fall school year, compliments of Shaw’s General store.   This past summer’s choice was a vivid yellow. I love the way it appears against the backdrop of the lake and a sunburned nose.oviv

 

 

 

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_photo_challenge/vivid/

Published by Kathy Simmons

I am an ex New Yorker who still misses the vibrancy of the city. I seek out the humor in every day life and relay it through my stories in the hope others will appreciate as well. I love to write about growing up with my fantastically unique Irish mother whose memory inspires me every day. Although she is no longer with us, her antics are an endless staple for my tales. I currently live in Connecticut with my husband, two sons and toy fox terrier Anabel.

5 thoughts on “Daily Post Photo Challenge “Vivid”

Leave a comment