Summertime in Sepia

I love this dreamy throwback photograph, taken on the outer banks of North Carolina circa 1960.  My beautiful mother in law Mary (on the right), adored this summer refuge where her parents owned a home.  She is pictured here with her best friend Dottie.  When I look at their carefree expressions I can almost feel the warm breeze and the lazy days of summers past.  I love her retro swimsuit too which she sewed by hand. She left us two years ago after a brief illness.  At her memorial service, I met a lovely older couple who spoke of Mary (as we all did) with love and adoration. As we reminisced I couldn’t stop staring at the elegantly dressed woman who seemed so hauntingly familiar. As I held out my hand, she introduced herself as Dottie…

 

mary2
MY BEAUTIFUL MOTHER IN LAW (LEFT) AND BEST FRIEND. SUMMER LONG GONE 1956.

Cee’s Black & White Photo Challenge: Sepia Tones Only

18 thoughts on “Summertime in Sepia

Leave a Reply

