One Word Challenge – “Up Close”

“Each sunshine-moment twinkles by
A white-winged, wandering butterfly…”
~W.T., “Honeymoon Cottage,” Chambers’s Journal of Popular Literature, Science, and Arts, 1862 June 28th

butter2

“Just living is not enough,” said the butterfly, “one must have sunshine, freedom and a little flower.”  Hans Christian Andersen

“Happiness is a butterfly, which when pursued, is always just beyond your grasp, but which, if you will sit down quietly, may alight upon you.”  Nathaniel Hawthorne

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_photo_challenge/close-up/

20 thoughts on “One Word Challenge – “Up Close”

  1. Dear Kathy, I read your comment on Lita’s post. I wanted to let you know that I too miss my childhood and like you I had a good one.Along the way I saw your photographs and also pictures of your sons, they are so cute. I’m glad I met you. You and I have one thing common we both love our childhood.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. What a lovely comment Ranu. I always have to keep in mind that so many others have not enjoyed the happiness you and I have experienced in our childhood though I am so sorry you lost your father so early! I wrote a short story about my father called “In The Company of Women” which you might enjoy on my blog. Your site is very beautiful and gives me a feeling of serenity. I just briefly visited and read a few of your selections. Wonderful. I will return when I have more time. I am also pleased you have found happiness in your current home. I love our small town in CT but it is somewhat rural and I still feel like the future holds somewhere different for me and my husband once our two sons leave to make their way in life. Where is still a mystery…As they say, home is where the heart is 🙂 Thank you for this nice connection. Don’t you love that about WordPress? Meeting special people from all over the world.

      Like

  2. Oh my, you showed me a pheasant and now a monarch. Both were plentiful in my youth and now..I never see pheasant any longer and now Monarchs, once teeming, are now scarce. The photo is nice but I went to that place. Please, encourage your readers to plant some milkweed for the Monarchs or our grand children will know them only in photos.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I take that as a high compliment having visited your blog and briefly viewed some of your exquisite photographs. You have talent, I am not versed in photography, I just was lucky with that particular shot as I was balancing on a railing of my porch and happened to get really “up close.” I do love the creativity of photography but need to learn a bit more about the technical which I don’t like. I love writing short stories and have several on my blog mostly about my family. I get distracted from my writing with these wonderful photo challenges!

      Like

Leave a Reply

