Cee’s Black and White Photo Challenge – “Older Than 50 Years…”

I visited Rome back in 1997. While touring the Coliseum, I captured this wonderful photograph of three nuns in full habit.  There is no doubt this ancient amphitheater built between 70 and 80 AD qualifies for the contest. As for the nuns, a bit harder to determine.  The stern gaze of the nun on the far left transports me back to my first grade classroom and to memories of my strict but excellent teacher, Sister Bernadette.  nuns

Cee’s Black & White Photo Challenge: Older than 50 Years

13 thoughts on “Cee’s Black and White Photo Challenge – “Older Than 50 Years…”

  1. Time stood still in that photo for you. I’m willing to bet the nuns are over 50 also. Especially the middle and right one. The Colliseum is a great background too. 😀

    Like

    1. Thank you! I loved your beautiful Venice wedding photos which brought back fond memories of a gorgeous and enchanting city. We stayed at hotel that was featured in old movie Summertime with Katherine Hepburn…

      Like

      1. Very happy memories eh? And Summertime is one of my all time favourite films – I retraced all the original locations a while ago and was delighted (and also surprised) to find that they’re all still exactly the same! I wish I could meet my Rossano Brazzi……!! Keep up the lovely photography!!

        Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Sandra. Agree about nun on right aware of me aiming and likely not happy about being my subject. I had a similar experience on a European tour I took many years ago. I had a crush on our dashing and handsome tour director and would pretend to be taking a photo of a monument and then at last second swerve camera to get close up of his face rather than monument (he was always close at hand). I have close up photo of him taken at a clog factory in Amsterdam. I focused camera on clog maker than last possible second aimed it at our tour director to capture his stunned yet annoyed expression. Still have photo, a wonderful memento 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

