One word photo challenge “Shamrock”

O, the red rose may be fair,
And the lily statelier;
But my shamrock, one in three
Takes the very heart of me!
~Katherine Tynan

shamrocks
Green (shamrock) is my favorite color. Vibrant yet equally soothing. My entire life contains touches of this lovely hue. The first photo (upper left) is a hand-carved tombstone compliments of my husband, in memory of our little hamster that passed away. The C is for “Cookie.” We buried her in our back yard directly among the daffodils that bloom each spring. I scattered the stone with what else? shamrocks..

One Word Photo Challenge: Shamrock

8 thoughts on “One word photo challenge “Shamrock”

  1. It’s so sweet that you gave your hamster a proper burial and a tombstone 🙂 apologies on the late follow too, Didn’t notice it on the sea of notifications 🙂

    Like

    1. We had two hamsters we adopted from a woman Claudie, we call the “Hamster Whisperer” who takes in hamsters in need of homes and adopts them out. She is amazing! We had 3 in total: “Cookie,” “Rita” (don’t you love that name my son gave her!) and “Milo.” Milo lived almost 4 years with us, far longer than life expectancy. I wrote an old story on my blog about Milo called “Of Hamsters and Men” if you have time you might like to read though a little sad. Thank you for lovely comment! Enjoy your weekend :_

      Like

  2. My husband made a home out of big Tupperware plastic bin, cut out 2 sides and put screened wire for breathability and drilled holes to hang water bottle. So easy to clean as opposed to glass tank. We used a second bigger tupperware bin for the hamster “playground” wherein we placed all fun tunnels and big second wheel and shredded tissue and empty tp rolls they love to go through. I would feel guilty on the days I didn’t have time to take them out of their regular home to transport them to playground for fun time! Haha.

    Like

  3. You do have this shade just about everywhere, don’t you? These are all such great examples. The hand carved tombstone is beautiful. I’m sorry about your hampster- and from reading the comment above, I do love the names as well, unique, short and sweet. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

